Lines That Changed Your Mind #10 “Give Before You Get”

Give Before You Get

I went to a business networking meeting this morning and it was all about social media. I was with one of my clients that I do marketing for and he wants to do social media but doesn’t really understand how it all works together. It can be very overwhelming and I understand where he is coming from. He wanted to hear someone other than myself talk about it.

The topic was “Give Before You Get.”  The premise in social media is to share something of value. To contribute to a conversation and engage. Not to sell or be sold. And yet I was surprised to be hearing this. Isn’t this really what we’re suppose to be doing anyway? Online or off?

So many of us learned this when we were kids. I come from a huge family and lived in a neighborhood where there were tons of kids. I specifically remember playing with a girl down the street who had everything. She had every doll and doll house. She had a Big Wheel, Green Machine, which by the way I could never get the hang of levers to turn. I just crashed! She had a play house and jungle gym and on and on and on. Playing at her house was like going to a toy store and getting to play with everything you didn’t have. And I mean the good stuff!

I remember baking cookies with my mom and taking them to old folks in the neighborhood. I told my mom, “After delivering the cookies I’m going to Holly’s house to play.” My mom said, “Take some cookies to Holly.” And I said, “Why she has everything already?” WOW my mom was not having it! She sat me down right then and told me how lucky I was to have a friend to allow me to play with all her toys! She told me that just because someone has lots of stuff doesn’t mean you don’t give them your time, friendship and anything else they might need. She said outside appearances aren’t always what they seem. Not sure I really understood the outside appearances thing at that age but I got my moms message loud and clear on giving. So I often gave her stuff and gave my friendship as well.

That little lesson has played a big role in all my relationships which has funneled over into my business which is the reason I have clients from 15 years ago. I give more than I need to because I want to. For me, I just thought that’s what you do. I mean I could have told my client, “I don’t need to go to this networking thing with you” but he wanted to go. I made what’s important to him important to me.

Funny when we left my client said, “You’ve already told me all of that” and I said, “I know and the guy presenting did talk about other things I haven’t told you and I hope you caught them.” He said I did but I’m counting on you to help me with that.” I said, “Of course I will.” So the point of being open and giving without expecting to get often leads to getting anyway. So it’s important to remember to give before you get.

And last but not least thanks mom for the lesson that is still working in my life today.

Tanya

Leave a comment